When did dating become boring?

When did dating become boring?  I’ll tell you when… now.  I find myself in a strange predicament.  I am 30 years old and very ready to find Mr. Right.  However, on my quest of sifting through the Mr. Wrongs, I have become, well, BORED from the quest!  It follows the same pattern:

1) Wink, nudge, message, smile or whatever else you do on those dating websites to get someone’s attention.

2) Pretend that you have another reason to check your email every hour other than anxiously awaiting that person’s return of attention.

3) Begin what is likely to be an awkward exchange of emails through designated website.  Ask the same questions you always ask, answer the same questions you always answer.

4) Exchange phone numbers and begin texting, because whether I want to admit it or not, no one talks on the phone anymore.  (Well except girls, we talk to each other on the phone when we have enough to say that we start to feel the carpal tunnel coming on.)

5) Decide to go out on a date.

6) Plan to meet for drinks (I hate this) or a meal (braver choice, but risky).

7) Attend said date where you talk about some of the same things you have already talked about, some new things, and wonder in your head if you are sharing too much or too little or if you are asking too much or too little.

8) My favorite step… you both say you had a great time and leave.  At this point each party waits for the other one to reach out.  What cracks me up about this step is sometimes I think people (myself included) are so worried about being the ones to reach out first that they simply never do even when they in fact did have a great time!

These steps, although repetitive, used to entertain and excite me.  I am now at the point where sometimes, not all the time, but sometimes, I feel like I am just going through the motions.  It is as if I physically and emotionally cannot muster up the excitement for one more of these rounds of dating 101.

Interestingly enough, I was talking about this with a friend the other night and she said that there is a sense of “dating boredom” that comes after you are married a while as well.  I had always heard that often married couples fall into a sort of rut, but she compared it to the feelings I was expressing currently.  Sometimes, when you do something over and over again, it loses its luster and apparently this applies to both situations!

So what’s a girl to do? (Or a guy, as the case may be.)

I don’t feel like I have the right to write about marriage as I have never been in one.  I guess the question I do have to try to answer is my own.  How can I make dating fun again?  How can I get back that excitement?  I said in the very first post of this blog that I did not have all the answers and here is a perfect example.  What do you think?  How do we make dating exciting in a world that revolves around meeting people on the internet?  

On the entertaining side of internet wonders, my blog appears to be spreading… pretty sure a guy asked me out last weekend who was not at all interested in me, just to see if I would put him in my blog.

Guess he got his wish.

Happy August everyone… go on an exciting date or two, will ya?

Sara

3 thoughts on “When did dating become boring?

  1. Well I haven’t gotten to the boredom stage yet. Maybe it’s because I’m far from boring and have things to talk about. Maybe the guys you are finding on the website are boring? I look for guys who seem interesting and funny so that they don’t bore me. I had a fun date the other night with a man who loved to talk. He had a lot of interesting things to say. I am going on a date this afternoon with an adorable, sweet and very romantic man. He is far from boring and said he saved some great questions and conversation starters for our date so we have fun things to talk about. I did the same. Talking is very important as well. Don’t just text, have a real conversation before you meet. It increases the excitement and makes the date less awkward. :-). I haven’t talked to today’s potential but we only started texting yesterday. My date is in 2 hours and 15 minutes and I am super excited to meet this man. I guess it’s up to us to keep it exciting. To change it up, talk about different things. I was never married but I was in a 7 year relationship that got boring and we had to work on making it exciting again. I guess that’s just it, even dating is work, but if you want to find love bad enough. You’ll do the work. I’ll let you know how my date today goes! :-). Butterflies already starting.

    Like

Leave a Reply

